More

Hertfordshire Golf

Lockdown Rules of Golf Quiz

Updated: Monday 20th April - Question 9

Click below to direct to the relevant question

Click here to view the answers page

Huge thanks to our past Chair and rules enthusiast Robin Colbourne of Moor Park for compiling a fun Rules of Golf question every other day over this lockdown period of time. What better time to brush up with your Rules knowledge!! 

If you want to receive the new question (and subsequent answer a day later) directly to your email inbox please drop Robin an email (robin.colbourne@ntlworld.com) and request to be added to his distribution list. 

Q1. 

On an easy par 3 your opponent hits his ball into deep rough. He announces that he will play a provisional. The provisional ball finishes 6 inches from the hole. He immediately says “I am declaring the first ball lost”. Being helpful to your opponent, on your way to the green, you walk through the rough where his first ball might be and find it within the 3 minute search time allowed. What are your opponent’s options?

Q2. 

What part of the course is the ball on? (Note: I have used words that describe parts of the course as we know them but which are not necessarily defined in the Rule book)

a) The ball is partly on the Out of Bounds line and partly on the General Area - Inbounds / OOB?

b) The ball is partly on the fringe and partly on the green - Fringe / Green?

c) The ball lies partly on the fairway and partly in the rough (Need to know this for winter rules) - Fairway / Rough?

d) Most of the ball is on the red line of a penalty area but a small part of the ball is is on the rough outside the penalty area - Penalty area / Rough

e) The ball is on a tee which is in front of a line drawn between the front of edges of the tee markers but a small part of the ball is overhanging that line - General Area / Teeing Area

f) The ball lies on sand spilling out of the back edge of a bunker - Bunker / General area

g) The ball rests against the flagstick with a small part of the ball below ground level - Holed / Putting green

h) The ball is embedded in the edge of the hole with 90% of it below ground level. The ball is not in contact with the flagstick - Holed / Putting green

Q3. 

On the 6th March this year at 10:50 my son-in-law (Handicap 22) and I (Handicap 11) started a round of golf at the Old Course, St Andrews. It was the first time that either of us had played the Old Course, so we inaugurated the Croxley Green Claret Jug and we were obviously the only 2 entrants. It was a Stableford, full handicap allowance competition. Below pictured are our 2 scorecards.
You are the Competition Committee. Normally you would just need to decide who won but for the purpose of learning you need to detail all the problems on the cards and which ones would cause Ian or me to receive a penalty and what that penalty would be.
For the purpose of this exercise, the scores in the Marker’s Score column of the card is the actual score taken by the Marker. 
What are the problems on the scorecards that will incur penalties, what is the penalty for each problem and who won?

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Q4.

Clubs. Player A arrives on the 1st Tee in an official competition and the starter reminds him to check his number of clubs. He has 13. Player B  also has 13 clubs but Player C has 15. To save time Player C transfers a club to Player A so that they both have 14.

Q 4.1 Any penalty to either player, if so how much? (This phrase will be shortened to “Penalty ?” , in the remainder of this document)

Player A hits his with driver but is dissatisfied with the height the ball achieves so adjusts the loft whilst Player B and C tee off.

Q 4.2 Penalty ?

As they walk off the tee, Player C states that he thinks it is illegal to change the playing characteristics of a club during the round.

Q 4.3 Penalty ?

Player A says he will alter the loft back to what it was and does so.

Q 4.4 Penalty ?

On the 2nd hole Player A uses his driver again

Q 4.5 Penalty ?

On the 3rd green the group discover 2 abandoned clubs. They decide that Player B and C will each carry one of the clubs.

Q 4.6 Penalty ?

On the 5th hole both Player B and C accidentally use the club that they have each carried since the 3rd green

Q 4.7 Penalty ?

On the 7th hole, Player B who has been putting very badly, sees his wife on an adjacent hole. Without delaying play he goes over to her and agrees to exchange putters.

Q 4.8 Penalty ?

Q5. 

Relief or not. The questions below ask if you get relief or not. By relief I mean relief without incurring a penalty shot.

In the distance, in the middle of the fairway, you see a dog digging up the ground. You play your shot and the ball lands near the dog which runs away. When you arrive at your ball it is in the hole that the dog was digging.

Q5.1 Relief / No Relief

As above but the ball is not in the hole but your feet will be when you take your stance

Q5.2 Relief / No Relief

As for 5.1 but where the dog was digging was in the rough

Q5.3 Relief / No Relief

As for 5.2 but where the dog was digging was in the rough

Q5.4 Relief / No Relief

Your ball comes to rest in an area where a tree stump has been removed. It is marked as Ground Under Repair (GUR)

Q5.5 Relief / No Relief

As above but the area is NOT marked as GUR

Q5.6 Relief / No Relief

Your swing might damage a bird’s nest

Q5.7 Relief / No Relief

Your swing might damage a wasp’s nest

Q5.8 Relief / No Relief

Your ball is outside an area of GUR but your feet, when placed to take your swing, will be inside the area of GUR.

Q5.9 Relief / No Relief

As above but when you examine where your nearest point of relief will be you realize that it will be in an area which will make the ball unplayable.

Q5.10 Do you have to take relief?

Your ball is outside an area of ground marked GUR. A tree growing within the area of GUR interferes with your swing.

Q5.11 Relief / No Relief

As above but it is the root of the tree that interferes with your swing

Q5.12 Relief / No Relief

Your club would hit a ball cleaner on your backswing.

Q5.13 Relief / No Relief

Your club would hit a ball cleaner on the follow through

Q5.14 Relief / No Relief

A ball cleaner is 5 metres in front of you 1 metre to the right of your line to the hole

Q5.15 Relief / No Relief

The ball cleaner is 5 metres in front of you directly on your line to the hole.

Q5.16 Relief / No Relief

You are playing in a prestigious Pro Am. There is an advertising hoarding 10 meters in front of you on a direct line to the hole

Q5.17 Relief / No Relief

Your swing is impeded by a 150 yard marker post which you are unable to remove

Q5.18 Relief / No Relief

Your swing is impeded by an Out of Bounds (OOB) stake

Q5.19 Relief / No Relief

You remove the OOB stake but your  opponent tells you this is not allowed.

Q5.20 Is (s)he correct? Can you replace the stake and play without penalty or have you lost the hole?

Q6. 

Match v Stroke play. One of my personal pet hates is roll-ups who have a swindle (either Stableford or medal) and at the same time will play a 4-ball match within the group that tee off together. The first reason that I dislike it is that a 4-ball stroke play round is easily the slowest form of golf there is and by doing this the group is paying no heed to the demands of the rest of the players on the course. The second reason is that the Rules that cover Stroke play as opposed to Match play are so different that the two forms of golf can not be played at the same time.

Therefore today’s questions are mostly about the differences (or not) between the Rules for Stroke and Match play. In all the questions there is no suggestion that the player unduly delayed play. For all questions there will be 2 answers. The first for a match play situation, the second for stroke play.

Q1. The player has a mid-morning start time and so decides to play a loop of 3 holes before his tee time.             Is this allowed?  

Q2. The player arrives at the tee 15 seconds after his tee time.  What is the penalty?                   

Q3. The 2 players arrive at the tee 10 minutes BEFORE their tee time. As there is no one on the hole in front they decide to start straight away What is the penalty?  

Q4. The player arrives at the tee 5 1/2 minutes after his tee time What is the penalty?

Q5. While he is waiting to start the player hits some chips close to the 1st tee What is the penalty?

Q6. After completion of the 3rd hole player takes 3 practice putts What is the penalty?

Q7. The player then hits 2 chips from the fringe and a further 2 chips on the tee of the 4th hole. What is the penalty?

Q8. Having started play at the 10th hole of the West (as directed by the starter) player hits 3 practice putts on the putting green as they walk from the 18th green to the 1st tee What is the penalty? 

Q9. On the 11th hole player A accidentally tees off from in front of the tee markers What is the penalty?

Q10. On the 12th Par 3, player having lasered distance to flag, discovers that it is 121 yds. He knows that a smooth 9 iron goes 125 yards so he tees up 4 yards behind the tee marker. The ball finishes 1 foot from the hole. What is the penalty?

Q11. On the 13th, Player B, having lost the previous hole and annoyed at having to wait for Player A who is taking a couple of practice putts on the 12th green, plays his tee shot first. What is the penalty?

Q12. Player B has hit his ball into long rough. Whilst Player A is walking down the fairway Player B finds a ball in the area where he expects his ball to be, marks the spot with a tee, lifts, identifies and replaces the ball. What is the penalty?

Q13. In the scenario described in the introduction (individual swindle + match play), Player A & B are playing against Player C & D. Player A says to Player B “what is the line for this putt” Player B replies “1 inch outside the right”. What is the penalty?

Q14. A & B v C & D. On 17th green A says to B “I am out of this hole but we have already won the match. I am the only one who is likely to win the swindle so I would like you to deliberately lose this hole so that the opponents tee off first on the 18th. I will then see their tee shots and yours so that I can judge how the ball behaves on the green.” B replies “OK”. What is the penalty?

Q7. 

On The Tee. Stroke play competition played from the white tees. There is no continuation of a situation from one numbered question to the next.

1. Player A & B play their tee shots. Player A’s ball only travels forwards 10 yards whilst player B’s ball is well down the fairway. Player A walks to his ball and hits it. Spectator then informs them that they have, mistakenly, played from the yellow tees.

What action must each player take and how many shots will each of them have played when they have played their next shot?

2. Player B tees off 2 club lengths behind the tee and plays his shot. The .ball hits a tree and rebounds to finish just in front of and touching his tee which is still in the ground.

a) Is the player allowed to remove the tee before playing his next shot?

b) Is the player allowed to put his ball back on the tee before playing his next shot?

c) Is the player allowed to move the tee sideways, place the ball on the tee and play from there?

d) Is the player allowed to move the tee forward 1 1/2 club lengths, place the ball on the tee and play from there?

3. Player uses the heel of his shoe to knock up a mound and places his ball on this. When he addresses the ball his feet are outside the teeing area.

What is the penalty and can the player correct it?

4. Player consider himself to be a woodworking specialist and makes his own tee pegs. He makes two different lengths - 3” and 5”.

a) On the tee he discovers that he has run out of 5” tees but uses one of his 3” ones - Any penalty?

b) Searching, more assiduously through his bag he finds a 5” tee which he pushes 1/4” into the ground and plays ball from on top of it. - Any penalty?

c) Player uses 5” tee which he pushes fully into the ground and plays shot - Any penalty?

5. Adjacent to the 1st tee there are bags of soil which players are requested to take and use for repairing divots.

a) The player uses some of this soil to create a mound which he uses as a tee - Any penalty?

b) The mound that the player creates with this soil is 5 1/2” high - Any penalty?

c) The player creates a mound that is 3” high and then uses a 4” tee on top of this. - Any penalty?

6. The player, wishing to use the full width of the teeing area, tees his ball immediately next to the tee marker.

He then moves the tee marker so that it does not interfere with his swing and plays his shot - Any penalty?

7. Having played his tee shot the ball rebounds and lands immediately adjacent to and touching  the tee marker.

Player removes tee marker before playing shot. Any penalty?

8. Having played his tee shot the ball comes to rest against a more forward tee marker.

The player removes the tee marker. Any penalty?

In moving the tee marker the player causes the ball to move.  Any penalty?

9. On the tee the player takes a full practice swing.

The swing accidentally connects with the ball and sends it 30 yards forward and into a bush. What is the penalty? What are the players options?

10. On a par 3, the tee has a hedge growing immediately behind it. The hedge has several long shoots growing out of it. Having placed a tee in the ground with his ball on the tee  and then taken his stance at the very back of the teeing area, one of these shoots interferes with the player’s backswing.

Player bends the shoot such that it no longer interferes with his swing. Before the player plays his shot his fellow competitor says that the player may not bend the shoot but may avoid a penalty by restoring the shoot to its original position and playing from;

a) only where the player originally intended - Is the fellow competitor correct?

b) anywhere in the teeing area - Is the fellow competitor correct?

Player does not believe his fellow competitor and plays the ball without restoring the shoot to its original position - any penalty?

Player does not believe his fellow competitor, does not restore the branch to its original position but moves to a different position on the tee so that the shoot no longer interferes with his backswing - any penalty?

* Equipment Rules

A tee is a device designed to raise the ball off the ground.  A tee must not:

be longer than 4 inches (101.6 mm);

be designed or manufactured in such a way that it could indicate line of play;

unduly influence the movement of the ball; or

otherwise assist the player in making a stroke or in his play.

Q8. 

Searching for answers. Quite a lot changed, in 2019, as far as searching for balls is concerned, so here are a few questions.

1. Player hits his tee shot into an area of rough. He searches for 2 minutes and then starts to walk back towards the tee. After another 45 seconds his fellow competitor calls out that he has found a ball.

There is not time for the player to return to his ball and formally identify it within the 3 minute search time. What are the player’s options?

2. Player hits his tee shot into the rough, walks forward and finds a ball within 3 minutes. Player marks the spot where the ball lies, lifts the ball to confirm that it is his. Fellow competitor says “I can not see any identifying mark on that ball, therefore it is deemed not be your ball and unless you find your ball within 3 minutes, your ball is lost and you will need to go back to the tee and play 3.” Player replies “This is a brand new Titleist Pro V1x number 99, which is what I hit from the tee. Surely that is enough to identify it”

Who is correct, Player (ball found and identified) or Opponent (ball found but deemed lost)

3. Same scenario as Q2 but this time the player has also hit an identical provisional ball into the same area. One of the balls is found. Fellow competitor 1. says “You are unable to determine whether or not that is your first ball or your provisional ball, therefore they are both lost and you must return to the tee and play 5.” Fellow competitor 2 says “That is a brand new Titleist ProV1 x number 99 that is good enough for me, you are playing 2 from here” Player says “Because I can not tell whether this my original or provisional, why don’t I call it my provisional and play 4 from here?

Who is correct? Competitor 1 - back to the tee, play 5; Competitor 2 - play 2; Player - play 4?

4. Same scenario as Q3, but this time both (identical) balls are found. One of them is Out of Bounds and one of them is still on the course.

What must the player do?

5. Same scenario as Q3. Both balls are found in bounds.

What must the player do?

6. Player finds ball in the rough but he can not identify it as it lies. Calls his opponent over so that he can observe him identifying the ball. Rotates the ball very carefully so as to not change the lie and identifies the ball.

Assuming that it was his drive that the Player hit into the rough, how many is he now playing?

7. Player finds ball in the rough but he can not identify it as it lies. Calls his opponent over to observe him identifying the ball. Marks position of the ball. Lifts it and cleans all the mud off it and identifies the ball.

Assuming that it was his drive that the Player hit into the rough, how many is he now playing?

8. Player finds ball in the rough but he can not identify it as it lies. Does NOT call opponent over to observe him identifying the ball. Marks position of the ball. Lifts it and identifies the ball. Replaces ball from where he had lifted it.

Assuming that it was his drive that the Player hit into the rough, how many is he now playing?

9. In searching for his drive in the rough, player accidentally kicks and moves the ball that he then correctly identifies as his. He replaces the ball where he estimates it was when he kicked it.

Will his next shot be the Players second, third, fourth or fifth?

10. In searching for his drive in the rough, player accidentally kicks and moves the ball that he then correctly identifies as his. He does not replace the ball but plays it from where he kicked it.

Will his next shot be the Players second, third, fourth or fifth?

Q9. 

Slightly different Rules question today.

You may not have seen the incident that happened in America at the end of last year.

This link shows an incident with Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sM7UJrsUr5g

I would be interested to know whether you think:-

1. There should not have been a penalty as the infringement was not visible to the naked eye

2. The 2-stroke penalty was correct

3. He should have been penalised 4 shots because he made 2 practice swings, moving sand each time

4. He should have been DQ’d from the tournament

5. He should be banned from golf


Return to News Page



Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.

TOP