In 2018 we received entries from a total of 41 teams. In previous years, Division 4 had been made up of 3 groups, which meant one group winner did not get a place at the end of season League Finals. As this was very disappointing for one team, we decided to only have 2 groups in Division 4 for this season. Although this meant Division 4A had 6 teams and therefore had to play 10 matches, this proved a popular decision. This meant all four divisions for 2018 consisted of two groups A and B.

Several of the early matches were postponed due to waterlogged courses and a few of the matches in the summer months were postponed due to thunder/lightning and thunder showers.

Division 4A was won convincingly by Harpenden B and Division 4B was won convincingly by Brickendon Grange B. The two teams relegated from Division 4 were Aldwickbury Park B and West Herts B and these teams will be in the new Division 5 for 2019. This newly formed group will also contain two new clubs – Old Fold Manor and The Melbourne (Brocket Hall).

Division 3A was won by Aldwickbury Park A who finished half a point ahead of Ashridge A and Essendon B. Division 3B was won convincingly by Sandy lodge B. The two teams relegated from Division 3 were Letchworth B and Bishops Stortford B.

In Division 2A, Sandy Lodge A finished top one point ahead of East Herts A and Division 2B was won more convincingly by West Herts A. The two teams relegated from Division 2 were Knebworth and Batchworth Park.

Division 1A was a closely fought group with Harpenden A coming out on top, half a point ahead of Mill Green A. Division 1B was won convincingly by Essendon A.

League Finals Day was held at Moor Park Golf Club on Sunday 21st October in beautiful warm sunshine. The winners of each group play for the overall winner of each division.

DIVISION 1 - Harpenden A beat Essendon A to win the Ovaltine League Cup

DIVISION 2 - Sandy Lodge A beat West Herts A

DIVISION 3 - Sandy Lodge B beat Aldwickbury Park A

DIVISION 4 - Harpenden B beat Brickendon Grange B

Fixtures for 2019 are already being arranged. I would like to wish all participating clubs every success in next year’s competition.

Rhona Finch

Ovaltine League Organiser